I have been trying for the last few weeks to actually find this account and my page. Thanks to Google search I was able to find the necessary links to get back to it. Scrolling down through my previous posts brought back many good memories and also made me think my mind works in weird ways. But it’s all good.

The reason I decided I wanted to get back into my blog was that we have started boating with dogs. For all of you who have done this/are doing this, I am absolutely sure you will be able to relate and think, “Ha, been there done that!” These posts probably won’t be on a regular, say weekly, basis, but as and when I have something to share, believe me, I will.

This first blog in this series is from last week. Over the next few blogs, I will probably reminisce to previous occasions.

IMG_0258

Captain and his dog with Cedar Point in the background

We spent a few days up on Lake Erie last week and cruised over to Kelley’s Island for Wednesday night. Before we got there and whilst there, this happened.

Bella, the black one and younger one, won’t go to the toilet on the boat (we are working on that) so when she needs to go one of us has to take her all the way ashore (almost 300m) just for her to go pee. Ebba will go potty on the dock; she’s not comfortable going on the boat but will if really necessary. So in the middle of the night, fortunately it wasn’t raining, Bella decided she needed to go so both dogs and I traipse (sp?) in my skinny PJ’s to the shore. Both do the necessary and we are half way back to the boat (it’s a very dark night) and Ebba decides to start play fighting with Bella. Bella backs up, straight over the edge of the dock. Dark night dark water dark dog. Not a good combination. The dock is 2′ above the water and I wasn’t going swimming. Though by the time I eventually got Bella out I might as well have done because I was soaked. 💦💦😤 Needless to say I was not happy with Ebba.

There’s more. Thought that with the midnight swim they might sleep just a little later. Haha no such luck so this put me in a really foul mood. 😡 We were about to leave for Kelleys Island so went ashore with the dogs one last time. Climbing back onboard Ebba gets up the gang plank and onboard. Bella’s on her way up so I climbed onboard and went into the cabin. 2 min later Paul asks where’s Bella? I don’t know, on the boat somewhere. No she isn’t. Oh oh panic. We find her wedged under the dock in the metal structure that holds it all in place. All we can surmise is that she didn’t quite make it on to the deck, over balanced and fell in. Again. But now our problem was that we had to pull her back out of her refuge, into the water and back on to more terra firma. Have you any idea how strong and inflexible a scared dog can be? It took the two of us a good 5 min to pry her out. All the while we are trying not to hold her around her belly where her operation scar was trying to heal. 😱 And we are working upside down with our heads almost in the water. I was wet again. (Functional fitness.)

Eventually made it to Kelleys and tied up and had a good afternoon. Thursday morning I took them for a walk and got coffee (they have something right on the island) and on the way back both dogs took off into the water swimming after a big flock of geese. When the dogs were about 150m offshore I decided that they might need reminding to come back. Bella came but not Ebba. She had the bit between her teeth and was going to catch a goose if it killed her. The dog whistle didn’t seem to have any effect ( normally it is instantaneous ) – selective hearing. And she decided to be impervious to the shock collar for once. I had almost given up when I saw her turn and start making her way back (400m offshore). But then she disappeared again. Aaaggghhh!  😤 3-4 min later the little shit came running out of the bushes on the shore looking like the cat who got the cream even though she didn’t catch a goose. 😳 They both slept all afternoon and night. 😴💤 Sorry this is so long but had to set the scene. 😊

And then there was the snake. Bella had just taken herself off the boat onto the dock and was just smoozing, sniffing etc when she went on point. Stood stock-still. I realised she was pointing at a snake. Very cautiously, one tiny step at a time – took probably 5 min- she inched her way towards the snake. It raised its head very slowly and looked at her. Just as she was about to stick her nose in its coils, it slithered off the dock into the water. Bella leapt high and backwards fortunately not too far though, maintaining her foothold on the dock. After this encounter though, every coiled rope was a potential snake so getting ashore for a pee took for e-v-e-r  🐉😕  It was just a black water snake. I’m told they are not poisonous but will bite if cornered.

IMG_0260

Bella not feeling the joy of boating; was a little rough out on the lake

IMG_0253

Duck watching at sunset

Have a great and safe 4th July.

Joanna

 

