Image We nearly had a passenger in the dinghy.

 

And it’s never too late for firsts.

After a beautiful day at anchor off Perry’s Monument at Put-In-Bay watching the Mills Race boats arriving and dinner, one final look at the weather forecast convinced us to take a late evening  cruise back to Sandusky Bay to re-anchor off Sandy Point.  Went through everything the same as normal, or so I thought, even when we started to get a riding turn on the anchor winch. And here is the first – I winched my fingers in with the anchor rode.  They went around on the drum one and a half times. Not sure how nothing broke. And fortunately we had ice onboard and I was able to ice my hand immediately. I can remember yelling at Paul to “GET IT OFF”, i.e. the rope. And fortunately it wasn’t windy and he was able haul on the rode to release the pressure. Thank goodness for CrossFit and all those deadlifts.

Image Hopefully this the third of my three. Last Saturday we had the near roll-over on the boat; Wednesday I got a speeding ticket; today, squashed fingers. Please let that be the end.

I hope everyone else has had an incident-free day.

Joanna

Never doubt yourself

