Image Meb Keflezighi won the 118th Boston Marathon today. The first American man to win since 1983. I can’t imagine what it was like to be on the finishing straight on Boylston Street watching him coming to the finish line with the 2nd place runner closing in on him. http://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/olympics/2014/04/21/meb-keflezighi-boston-marathon-shalane-flanagan/7962779/

Congratulations, too, to Carrie for her spectacular finish of 3 hours 32 minutes. She is a machine! (And I mean that in the nicest possible way.)

Image This story, a 16 year old boy climbs over an airport fence and hides in the wheel well of an airplane bound for Hawaii and survives. With all the high tech security screening of passengers and luggage, this incident rather makes a mockery of the whole thing. And if I heard correctly, the boy was seen climbing into the wheel well on CCTV. Why didn’t someone go out and investigate? http://www.bbc.com/news/blogs-magazine-monitor-27103589 Next time I fly, I will feel really confident and safe knowing that my luggage has been screened, I have been x-rayed to death but no-one bothered to check the wheel wells.

Happy day.

Joanna

Never doubt yourself

