Firstly, I have to say a huge thank you to Paul, Brad, Anna, Steve, Jen, everyone else who came to the box to support me today and all of you who have sent me messages of support. You have no idea how much this means to me and how much it encouraged me to try even harder. Paul, for waiting and running around for me and picking up after me. Brad, for his patience as he encouraged me and guided me through my lifts and attempts at handstand push ups (HSPU).

Image(Practicing my clean)

I attempted two WODs today – Masters Regional 14.1 and 14.3. 14.1 was fairly straight forward – a 1-rep max clean (from the ground to shoulders). 14.3 was rather more complex – 3 rounds of 40cal row, 15 handstand push ups (2″ riser for my age group), 40 double unders.

Image (my 105lb 1-rep max)

My max for any sort of clean was achieved last week at 90lb so I wasn’t sure how much more I would lift today. I had to keep telling myself that this is all a learning experience, to really test my limits and it did. I managed a PR of 15lb to a final lift of 105lb. I was rather pumped about that. Plenty of work still to do, particularly on my technique but that’s OK.

We went back to the box this afternoon and I tried and tried with Brad coaching me through each practice attempt at the HSPU. Story behind these; as of a week and a half ago, the most I could do was one or two with 3 ab mats under my head. Last week, convinced that HSPU would be in this set of WODs I practiced and practiced like mad. I also went through all past CrossFit Games Masters’ WODs and the standards for my age group was with 4″ riser i.e., 4″ (2 ab mats) of padding between my head and the floor. And I was so excited on Tuesday that I had got them, albeit in ones and twos but I would be able to do the movement in a WOD if called for. However, the 2″ riser (one ab mat) I just couldn’t get it. My shoulders and arms just couldn’t get me up that extra 2″. Eventually, Brad and I decided that I should just start the row and then give it my all at a few attempts at the HSPU. You never know until you try. I tried and now I know. Today was not the day I was going to do a HSPU with only one mat. But that’s OK too. I had pushed to my limit and left it on the floor.

So thank you again to everyone. The energy was so positive.

Whatever you are doing tomorrow, have a great day. If you are traveling, be safe. If you are WODding, WOD hard. And if you are cheering on your children, you’re the best!

Joanna

Never doubt yourself

 

