ImageToday is a slight deviation from the usual. Normally I write something about my day or a piece of news and then I sign off but I want to share an email from David, my son. I have mentioned it before that he is attempting his first 100 mile road race in May.

My day was quite good on the whole. Did well with my strength lifting; got in some good practice with wall balls and then practiced some toes to bar. That was first thing. Lunchtime, I WOD’d with Paul and others and to be honest, without their and Anna’s, support, I probably wouldn’t have finished. I got to #7 in the second lot of front squats and dropped the bar. I did doubt myself and my ability to finish. I looked around to see if anyone was watching and fortunately they were (everyone else had finished) and they all rallied around me. OMG. Couldn’t let them nor me down. So I finished. Then I had to go to the dentist to get my permanent crown fitted. It wouldn’t fit so have to go back again for a second try on Wednesday. Managed to rearrange my doctor’s appointment for my foot to tomorrow, so despite the dentist, everything else was a positive.

Anyway, enough about me, please, if you have time, read the following and let me know your comments and otherwise. Also, please share if you know someone who might like to sponsor them and have their business advertised on the road for 100 miles. Thanks. (PS David wrote it yesterday.)

Good evening,

I hope you all have had a wonderful day, and didn’t miss your extra hour of sleep too much. I’m sure you already know but Drew and I will be embarking on a 100 mile jog in the Keys on May 17. Because we are expecting the race to last about 20 hours we are going to need a support crew driving a vehicle with our food and extra supplies. As I’m sure you all know that when preparing for a race, whether its for running or sailing, there are numerous costs that go into the event. Drew and I want to make sure that everything runs smoothly and we have everything we need for this event, so we don’t have any issues arise to take our attention away from the training and race while minimizing costs as much as possible. This is by far the longest and most challenging event we have set out to accomplish, but also the most exciting.

I have attached an itinerary and itemized sheet as to what is going into the event, and we would be so very grateful for any assistance or guidance. We’re reaching out to you to see if you or if you know anyone who might be able to provide housing, let us borrow a car, offer any other assistance for this trip, or even come along for the ride!! We are very grateful that you are taking the time to consider this request for help, and appreciate any guidance you can provide.

You can find more information about the race at www.keys100.com, and here is a link to the course map:
If you have any questions please feel free to let me know.

David T.
757.580.2991

Race:  Keys 100 :  May 17-18 2014  : Goal: To finish the 100 mile race under 20 hours : Mission: To raise over $2500 for Emblem Action Day! (Please click on each photo below to enlarge the print.)

Screen Shot 2014-03-10 at 8.32.26 PM

Screen Shot 2014-03-10 at 8.32.34 PM

