ImageAnna has announced she is retiring from Olympic Sailing. She will continue to sail in other areas, but after 12 years of total dedication, she has decided enough is enough. Thank you to Molly and Debbie who campaigned with her up to the London Olympics and to all her sponsors, coaches and supporters who have helped and encouraged her along the way.

Image

Image
I was going to write about the battery on my phone dying inordinately fast this week and ask if anyone else has had this problem, but according to an article Paul shared with me, I have to blame the weather. Or at least the cold. http://www.tuaw.com/2014/01/07/iphone-battery-draining-faster-than-usual-blame-the-weather/     And it seems rather inconsequential now, after Anna’s announcement.

This is what is left of the beautiful Christmas flower arrangement my big little sis sent me. Still very pretty.Image

Image

Lake Michigan’s ice balls.

Image

Patially frozen Niagra Falls

I managed to do the hoovering today without too much discomfort in my ribs/back so I might do a leg WOD tomorrow. Did go for a walk today; it was absolutely beautiful. There is at least one plus for not being able to WOD – I do get to watch my fellow CrossFitters work out. I am always totally impressed with the determination, strength and skill they all exhibit whether they are lifting a bare bar or 200lbs. Makes no difference. Everyone is putting in the same amount of effort and gaining the same sense of achievement afterwards.

Watch out for the frozen rain/icy roads tonight through tomorrow.  Joanna

Never doubt yourself

