ImageGuy Fawkes Night, Bonfire Night, Fireworks Night – the Gunpowder Plot, this day in 1605 when Guy Fawkes was arrested whilst he was guarding the explosives hidden beneath the House of Lords in London.

It is said that the word ‘guy’ actually comes from the name Guy Fawkes. It originally meant “an ugly, repulsive person” but, throughout the years, simply became a synonym for “man”.

ImageJay Carney was shown speaking on the news today. What I heard, between the lines before I turned it off, was:

* being a woman is a pre-existing condition so insurance companies were charging women twice/double; they are not allowed to do that now.

* all those people who are now receiving letters from their insurance companies canceling their existing insurance policies and cordially instructing them that they have to buy a new more expensive one, were all enrolled in sub-standard policies.

WHAT?

And if you put a ‘period’ as in . nothing follows it, right? So how is it that now the statement, “you will be able to keep your health insurance plan, period” is now being restated as ‘you will be able to keep your health insurance plan, if …”

Change the subject. I learned how to do pistols today – one legged squats. And I PR’d my deadlift  weight today – 170lb. Last week my max was 120lb. I really surprised myself. I think I underestimate myself.           Joanna

