Image … unfortunately someone or team, has to lose. I have to admit, I was one of those skeptics that this was not going to be a good regatta, that the sailing would not be exciting and it really looked like that even a week ago. However, the last few days have had a hour or so of TV worth watching. So congratulations to Oracle Team USA and huge commiserations to Emirates Team New Zealand. Both teams sailed to the full extent of their abilities and beyond and the boats were definitely something else, very alien-like, especially as they rounded the windward mark and rose out of the water onto their foils. Talk about War of the Worlds.

As I said, I was very skeptical about the whole thing. I actually got totally turned off as the whole America’s Cup got dragged through the courts. What happened to the spirit of the law? And then the rules of the event – time limits, too much wind, not enough wind. And as far as I understand it, these rules were agreed to by both teams. Who could know that they would play such an important role in the outcome of the Cup. 

I do hope the next, 35th, America’s Cup, will not cost quite so much and so be contested by more teams. Maybe now is the time to introduce a new trophy – The Larry Ellison Trophy – for hi-tech boats, materials, wings, foils etc and the America’s Cup be sailed in, I don’t know, Etchells, Farr 40’s, (open to suggestions here). Food for thought.       Joanna

