image

Last night I spent a couple of hours watching a fantastic light show. Around 1am I saw lightning flashes from my bunk and heard thunder rolling by so I got up and battened down the hatches in anticipation of very heavy rain. Suffice to say, the rain didn’t come but boy, did Mother Nature do herself proud with the lightning. It was almost constant around the sky and I saw lightning that I had never seen before. Not only were there ground to clouds strikes, there was also lightning like fingers stretching out across the bottom of the clouds. Fortunately the fingers didn’t reach as far as us. At one point, the thunder rolled for so long without a break, that I was convinced that a tornado was on its way. Which is actually quite ironic in a bad way because two or three years ago, that is just what happened to this port; on this weekend.

Today, well this morning, I dragged Paul to a gym in the town to try to do the Hotshots 19 WOD. It was a wod that had been put together as a fundraiser by the CrossFit community to raise money for the families of the 19 firefighters who were killed while fighting a wild fire in Arizona. It was very tough and a little makeshift but we managed though I think our 400m run wasn’t perhaps quite 400m. However, I think I am going to be rather sore tomorrow. Paul says he will be too. And it was all for a good cause.

just looked at the status of the Syrian issue and I see that Obama is going to Congress to get approval for a strike on Syria. This is very gracious of him seeing that for that past few  occasions he has just done it anyway. Cynic that I am, I rather feel that he is hoping that Congress votes against military action and then he can blame the Republicans for non-action.  And then the UK and the US can re-establish its special relationship because the governments can empathize with each other. And we don’t have to be best friends with the French for too long.

The first day of September tomorrow. Oh buoy.         Joanna

