Image

GPS chartplotter showing weather over Harrisville as we made our way down the coast.

Image

Here is the radar reflection showing the same storm and us going in the opposite direction to where we really wanted to go.

Image

And there goes the storm over the horizon. I made an executive decision to turn the boat around when I saw cloud to ground lightning just on shore from us. My turn scared the living daylights out of Paul. Apparently he thought I had hit something. Oh he of little faith. We hovered around the top edge of the storm as it moved through and then went down the backside as it moved off shore.

Image

Along the way, we passed several lighthouses. I love lighthouses, along with bridges. This light proudly stands on, warning mariners to give a wide berth to, Thunder Bay Island and its associated rock hazards.

Image

As we approached Harrisville, Paul hands me the binoculars and asks, “Is that the police boat?” I couldn’t believe it. Yes it was. Well it had a flashing blue light. Either way, they were coming straight for us. But then …..  they veered across our bows and went chasing the inflatable raft/thingy. It must have broken loose during the storm and they were collecting the debris. They were the Michigan Conservation Officer/DNR.

Seems like they have good internet again. So I am going to press publish and cross my fingers.          Joanna

