Image Started the day with a 15 mile run out at North Park. Decided, after running there last week, that the hills around the lake are a more effective training tool than the two big hills I have been running during my long runs over the last couple of years. It was a beautiful day for the run – minimal humidity. Awesome.

After trying to cool down and dry off, I set off for my next appointment – I was to be a training tool for a good friend of mine who is learning about holistic massage/therapy. Wasn’t sure what to expect but I knew it would be good. On the way, I called into Starbucks to get my recovery latte. I always ask for it extra hot, otherwise it is never hot enough. This does mean, however, that sometimes it takes a good 10-15 minutes of cooling before I can drink it. Today was one of those days.

And so it came to pass that I arrived at the massage place before even having taken a sip. I was early so I decided to sit outside in the sun and enjoy my coffee. OMGoodness. What it was was not coffee. Firstly it was sooo sweet, it was sickly. And the flavour was definitely nothing I had ever tasted before. It was gross. The guy, whose drink it was, probably thought the same about mine. Oops.  Lesson learned: Make sure you get that for which you pay.

And today’s ‘first’: I had a facial. Never had one before. I have to say, my skin is really soft right now. I guess I’ll mess it up again when I go swimming tomorrow with the chlorine in the pool. But, … “you gotta do whatcha gotta do.” Right?                        Joanna

