ImageBit of an odd photo. I am struggling with ‘post-event depression’. It’s not so much depression, rather more of a slump. The picture is the view from where I am sitting at the moment – looking across the boat to outside. I ought to dry the dishes and put them away. I should put the grapes in the fridge. It’s quite gloomy and cold outside. Because of the wind, the boat is surging on her dock lines and then springing back. I feel restless but am lacking drive. All quite bizarre but also quite normal. The euphoria of the event is still there in the back of my mind but now it is time to move on. And that is the trouble. As of yet I don’t have a big event scheduled. Come to that, not even a small one. I don’t have a focus, a competitive challenge towards which to work. Don’t get me wrong, I love running for the sake of running and biking too. Swimming, not sure about that one. But I enjoy it so much more if there is goal down the road.

OK, that’s enough wallowing in my own self pity. There are so many people who are a lot worse off than me.

Today was an odd day. I had a great run this morning, but it poured with rain so I got absolutely soaked and had to jump out of the way of several puddle deluges from vehicles on the road. Travelled up to the boat, but it is Thursday not Friday so it feels weird. Had a good journey up to the boat but I bet at least 80% of the journey was through construction zones. Fortunately the traffic wasn’t too bad and it was all 2-lane. I stopped at one of the services to get a coffee but the girl only filled the cup 3/4 full and scowled at me when I asked her to add some more milk. It was good getting to the boat, but the wind has been blowing from the north-east for a couple of days and the boat is black bright with coal dust. Paul, whom I haven’t seen for over a week and is at a conference 10 miles down the coast, came to the boat for dinner but then disappeared again back for the final evening’s entertainment. As I said, just ODD!

So I am going to go to bed, get some sleep (the fish have finished doing their thing against the boats) and hopefully awaken fully refreshed and super-charged.

I don’t know what prompted me but I have just done a google search on ODD. Apparently ODD stands for Oppositional Defiant Disorder. My day definitely wasn’t that so I will change it and say, It was an odd day.

Definition of odd:  Deviating from what is ordinary, usual, or expected; strange or peculiar. Need I say more.       Joanna

