ImageNot yet anyway. I will lie down shortly. Have to after last night’s late night. However, the first set of tiles have been laid on the base of the shower. Yay! The big ones should start going up the wall tomorrow, I hope. Did have my first fall of my biking season yesterday. I didn’t fall off my bike. I was going to use the restroom in the cafe where we ate lunch and the floor was so slippery under my bike shoes that I just went down. It was like slipping on ice. No damage done though fortunately. Hopefully it will be the only fall of the season. What brought this back to mind is that I am watching the Paris-Roubiax cycling race – that’s the one that goes over all the cobble stones – and the riders keep falling off. I finished, finished my Advanced Piloting exam today. As I was checking it over I did manage to sort out a discrepancy in one part of the cruise which was good. I took the final boat curtain plans to the shop so hopefully we will see progress soon on that front too. Rode the three rivers today; such a beautiful day. Daffadowndillies were out in abundance; so were runners, all preparing for the Pittsburgh marathon/half/relay in 4 weeks. I actually felt comfortable enough with my recovery that I got my training schedule out again. Less than 7 weeks now but I think I will be OK. And just in case you thought I had made up ‘daffadowndillies’,

Daffadowndilly by A.A. Milne

She wore her yellow sun-bonnet,
She wore her greenest gown;
She turned to the south wind
And curtsied up and down.
She turned to the sunlight
And shook her yellow head,
And whispered to her neighbour:
“Winter is dead.”

The big news today, of course, is that Baroness Margaret Thatcher died today. She was an amazing Prime Minister; she was just the right person at the right time. It’s funny, I am reading a book about Sir Winston Churchill at the moment and the same was said about him. I was only 6 1/2 when he died but I remember the occasion when it was announced in the news. I didn’t really know that much about Churchill but as I lived through Maggie’s ‘reign of power’ I often felt that she and Churchill had a lot in common. They were right for their time but then tried to hang on too long. However, she was the last of her kind, unfortunately. I think the country(ies), UK and/or USA, would be better off if either country elected a leader with similar personality, courage and personality.

Image A great lady. May she rest in peace.     Joanna

