ImageIs the world as we know it about to go into free-fall? Today was the last day for the government to prevent the sequestration. The original definition of ‘sequestration’ in law is “Sequestration (law), the seizure of property for creditors or the state”. It is being re-defined by the US government as “U.S. legal procedure in which automatic spending cuts are triggered …” To my mind, the government does both, in taxes and now because of their incompetence. Either way, we are the ones who are left up shxt-creek without the paddle, and they go home, confident in the knowledge that they will have a job to go back to on Monday with full benefits and healthcare. Ok, I’ll get down from my soap box now. The other big news today, about which the media seems to be intimating crisis, obviously, is the Pope’s final hours as Pontiff and the crisis facing the Catholic church. Oh dear. A little bit of ‘sort of’ good news in a roundabout way. Someone backed into my car in a parking lot yesterday (bad) but the person had the decency to leave me a note with their telephone number (good). And this post means that I have now completed two months of the challenge I set myself for 2013. The first month was completed via emails to different people. Thanks to those few who read these posts. I do feel, every now and then, that it is rather narcissistic of me but it is quite a fun way to keep a log of what I am doing, feeling, what’s going on in the world, what the weather is doing etc. Speaking of which, it is supposed to be cold again tomorrow. Wrap up warm.    Joanna

